WhatsApp: How To Protect Your Details From Facebook

When Facebook acquired WhatsApp for $19 billion in 2014, WhatsApp founder Jan Koum promised that the popular app will remain autonomous and operate independently. It was certainly an incompatible marriage. Facebook is a public social platform while WhatsApp is where you share the most private of information with your friends and family. Unfortunately, things have now become ugly and WhatsApp will share your phone number with Facebook.

Two days ago, WhatsApp published a new privacy policy that, for the first time, gives it permission to connect Facebook accounts to WhatsApp accounts. The result of this move is to grant Facebook more information about the messaging app’s users and to suggest their phone contacts as friends to others. Yes, the messages you write and the images you post are end-to-end encrypted and cannot be read, however, the phone number, phone details, and user details can be. The good news is that you can prevent WhatsApp from granting access to Facebook and we will come to that shortly.

WhatsApp Privacy Protection – Sourced From The Telegraph

By agreeing to the new policy terms, other users may have your number saved in their phone and may see you as a suggested friend. Here’s how you prevent this whole privacy invasion. When WhatsApp asks you to accept the new terms and condition, do not tap on ”Agree” but choose ”Read more about the key updates to our Terms and Privacy Policy.” Once you are on the Account window, you will see at the bottom ”Share my account info” with a box that’s ticked next to it. Uncheck the box to remove any permission granted. If you already accepted it, then you have 30 days to uncheck this box by going to WhatsApp > Settings > Account > Share my account info.

Finally, you must know that not everyone received the updated policy terms. If you haven’t received a notification to accept them, then your personal details are safe, for now. When you do receive a notification, remember to follow the instructions and uncheck the box that grants Facebook access to your phone number and details.

Advertisements